Mass Remove Users from a Community

As students leave campus, their accounts and memberships remain unaffected unless you take action. This article discusses the things you should consider when deciding to keep these accounts or remove them from your community. The term “inactive” is used throughout this article to describe students who are no longer with your school.

Pros and Cons

Pros

More accurate data: Removing inactive users will provide you a better picture of what’s going on in your community. The reports you pull and data you collect will be more accurate after you’ve removed users that are no longer with your school.

Communication is relevant to all users: Removing inactive users ensures that your mass communications are received only by those that still attend your school. If you do not remove these users, they will likely flood your inbox with requests to be removed from your community.

Cons

User access: When a user is removed from your community, they will no longer have access to their organization. They will not be able to utilize the tools provided in each portal.

 

Ultimately, we consider it a best practice to remove inactive users because this lends itself to more accurate data and reporting. 

Why Authenticated Communities Should Always Remove Inactive Users

If your campus utilizes an authenticated login process, there's a bigger need to remove inactive users. Authenticated campuses control the login process for their OrgSync community. If a user leaves campus and their credentials are invalidated, they won't be able to access their account and they also can't remove their account.

For these reasons, we always suggest that authenticated communities remove inactive users every semester or year. This will increase data accuracy and relieve potential headaches caused by the scenario described above.

Removing Users

To remove users from your community, compile a list of usernames that should be removed. There are different ways to generate this list. To begin, select the Admin dropdown in the top right of your screen, select the community option, choose the Reports tab, and pull the All Users report. You will receive an email copy of the file or you can check the status on this page.

This report contains every user registered in your community. Use this report to isolate inactive users. There are several ways to do this. One method is to rope in your IT department and have them identify the users that have left campus. Another method is to isolate the inactive users yourself. Many campus partners do this with the last login date provided on the report. Sort the spreadsheet by this column and choose a cut-off date. Next, isolate the users that have not logged in since the cut-off date you decided on. After you’ve isolated these users, add their usernames to a new spreadsheet in one column. When your list is complete, save the spreadsheet as a CSV document.

Before you send this file to your Campus Consultant, we recommend that you run all of the reports available to you via the Reports page (where you pulled the All Users report). This will allow you to reference old data after your list of users have been removed. After you send the file to your Campus Consultant, expect a two to three day turnaround before the users are removed. If needed, you can schedule a specific date with your Campus Consultant.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk